
 

 
Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission 
100 W. Randolph St., Suite 8-200 
Chicago, IL  60601 
312-814-6500 
                                                             

Pat Quinn, Governor                                                                                                      Mitch Weisz, Chairman                                                                      

 

www.iwcc.il.gov 
 

Summary of Workers’ Compensation Legislation 
 

 
The General Assembly recently passed significant Workers’ Compensation reform 
legislation (HB1698), which the Governor signed to enact PA 97-0018.  Below is a 
summary of the major provisions of the legislation.  The Act became effective 
immediately upon the signature of the Governor however some provisions become 
effective on later dates.  There is also a single reference to SB1147 which also 
passed the General Assembly and awaits the Governor’s approval.   
 
Operation of the Commission 
 

• Codifies the current administrative rule specifying that Arbitrators and 
Commissioners of the IWCC are subject to the Code of Judicial Conduct.	
  
	
  

• Provides that terms of all Arbitrators are terminated as of the end of business 
on July 1, 2011.  Current Arbitrators continue to serve until they or their 
successors are appointed.	
  

	
  
• Provides that the Governor shall appoint all Arbitrators, subject to advice 

and consent of the Senate, for the initial terms immediately after the 
effective date of the Act.  The Governor shall request recommendations 
from Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board regarding appointing these 
Arbitrators, which the Board may provide.  These appointments shall be 
staggered between 1, 2, and 3 year terms.  Thereafter, Arbitrators are 
appointed for 3-year terms by the full Commission.  The Governor’s 
appointing authority supersedes provisions of the Personnel Code.	
  

	
  
• Requires that all new Arbitrators, not currently serving on the effective date 

of the Act, must be licensed to practice law in Illinois and must keep that 
status current throughout their term(s) of service.	
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• Provides that the Chairman shall evaluate the performance of all Arbitrators 
annually and make recommendations about reappointment of Arbitrators by 
the full Commission.	
  

 
• Deletes the provision that Arbitrators are reappointed unless the Chairman 

recommends that an Arbitrator’s term shall not be renewed and 8 
Commissioners vote not to renew the Arbitrator’s term. 

 
• Requires Arbitrators and Commissioners to take at least 20 hours of training 

every 2 years while in office regarding professional and ethical standards, 
detection of fraud, evidence-based medical treatment, and Coal Workers’ 
Pneumoconiosis.	
  

	
  
• Requires that at least 3 Arbitrators be assigned to each hearing site and cases 

must be randomly assigned to them.  Arbitrators may not serve more than 2 
years of any 3-year term in any single county, other than in Cook.	
  

	
  
• Provides that all claims of current or former employees of the IWCC be 

adjudicated by certified independent Arbitrators not employed by the IWCC.  
Arbitrators shall be selected by the Chairman from a list generated by the 
Commission Review Board.  Decisions of the independent Arbitrator shall 
become a decision of the Commission but are subject to judicial review.	
  

	
  
• Provides that the terms of members of the Workers’ Compensation Advisory 

Board are terminated immediately and the Governor shall make new 
appointments within 30 days.	
  

Substantive Amendments 
 

• Codifies that the Petitioner has the burden of proving by a preponderance of 
evidence that the injuries arose out of and in the course of employment.	
  
	
  

• Provides that for accidents on or after 9/1/11, wage differential awards shall 
be effective only until the petitioner reaches the age of 67 or 5 years after the 
date of the award becomes final, whichever occurs later.	
  
	
  

• Reduces Temporary Partial Disability benefits by using the “gross” rather than 
“net” amount of income earned from the light duty position. 
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• Allows employers to establish preferred provider programs (PPP) of medical 

providers approved by the Department of Insurance.  The PPP only applies 
to cases in which the PPP was already approved and in place at the time of 
the injury.  The employee must be notified of the program on a form 
promulgated by the IWCC.  Employees have 2 choices of treating providers 
from within the employer’s network.  If the Commission finds that the 
second choice of physician within the network has not provided adequate 
treatment, the employee may choose a physician from outside the network.  
Employees may opt out of the PPP in writing at any time, but such action 
constitutes a choice of physicians.  If an employee chooses non-emergency 
treatment prior to the report of an injury, that constitutes a choice of 
physicians.	
  

	
  
• Rolls back the maximum award for the loss of the use of a hand to pre-2006 

levels (190 weeks) rather than the current 205 weeks.	
  
 

• Caps repetitive Carpal Tunnel Syndrome awards to 15% of the loss of the 
use of a hand unless the petitioner proves greater disability by clear and 
convincing evidence, at which time the award is capped at 30% loss of the 
use of the hand.	
  

	
  
• Provides that to determine PPD regarding accidents on or after 9/1/11 a 

physician submitting an impairment report shall use the most recent AMA 
guidelines on impairment including objective criteria.  The level of disability 
shall be based on that impairment report, the occupation of the petitioner, the 
age of the petitioner, the future earning capacity of the petitioner, and 
evidence of disability in the treating providers’ medical records.  The 
relevance and weight of factors in addition to the impairment report shall be 
included in all decisions relating to PPD.  	
  

	
  
• For accidents on or after 9/1/11, precludes compensation if the employee’s 

intoxication was the proximate cause of his injury or if the employee’s level 
of intoxication was sufficient to constitute a departure from employment.  
Establishes criteria for testing and sets a presumption of causation because 
of intoxication at a BAC level of .08, evidence of impairment due to 
ingestion of cannabis or a controlled substances, or refusal to submit to a 
test.  An employee may rebut the presumption by proving intoxication was 
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not the proximate or sole cause of the injury by a “preponderance of 
admissible evidence.”	
  

 
• SB1147, previously sent to the Governor, precludes compensation to an 

employee whose injury was caused by actions resulting in a conviction for a 
forcible felony, aggravated driving under the influence, or reckless homicide 
if the crime caused the death or serious injury of another.  Specifies that 
attorney fees and penalties shall not be awarded if an employer fails to make 
timely payments or terminates benefits pending conclusion of a prosecution 
if the employee has been charged with an offense specified above. 

Medical Fee Schedule 
 

• Reduces all current fee schedules by 30% for all treatment performed after 
9/1/11, and reduces the current 76% percent of charge default to 53.2%.	
  
 

• Effective 1/1/12, collapses the current 29 geo zips to 14 zones for hospitals 
and 4 for physicians and other providers.  These zones are based on the 
boundaries of specified counties. 

 
• Effective 1/1/12 allows the IWCC to update CPT codes and crosswalks 

based on most recent AMA criteria and to incorporate associated rule 
changes. 

 
• Effective 1/1/12 allows the IWCC to annually include new procedures in the 

fee schedule based on non-Medicare relative values and conversion factors. 
 

• Provides that medical implants shall be reimbursed at 25% over invoice 
price plus actual and customary shipping minus any rebates. 

 
• Specifies that accredited Ambulatory Surgical Care facilities are reimbursed 

under the schedule as well as licensed Ambulatory Surgical Care Centers. 
 

• Includes physician-dispensed medication to the fee schedule at the average 
wholesale price plus a dispensing fee of $4.18.  

 
• Adds dental services to the medical fee schedule. 
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• Requires payers to inform providers of insufficient information in billing 
within 30 days and imposes the 1% monthly interest fee after 30 days rather 
than 60 days. 

 
• Specifies that bills for treatment deemed to be unnecessary or excessive are 

subject to the prohibition against billing to the injured employees. 
 

• Requires the Department of Insurance of establish rules for electronic billing 
for all medical bills by 1/1/12 which must be accepted by all 
employers/insurers by 6/30/12. 

 
• Provides that out-of-state services be paid at the lesser rate of that state’s 

medical fee schedule or the fee schedule in effect for employee’s residence. 
 
Utilization Review (applies to treatment provided on or after 9/1/11) 
 

• Requires providers to submit to reasonable written UR requests, and to make 
reasonable efforts to submit timely and complete reports to support a request 
for certification of requested treatment.  If such reasonable efforts are not 
made, the charges may not be compensable or collectable.   
 

• Requires that written notices of certification and non-certification of 
requested treatment, including evidence-based guidelines, shall be furnished 
to the provider and employee. 

 
• Provides that an employer or its agent can only deny requested medical 

treatment because that the treatment is excessive or unnecessary based on a 
valid UR report. 

 
• Provides that if an employer or its agent refuses to pay for services based on 

a legitimate UR review, the petitioner has the burden of establishing that 
variance with the guidelines are warranted in the particular situation.  

 
• Requires a physician performing UR to be available for deposition in this 

state either in person or through telephonic communication.  The cost of 
such depositions shall be borne by the employer/insurer. 

 
• Requires UR reports be addressed in any written decision.  
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Insurance Compliance  
 

• Provides that all Employee Leasing Companies provide the IWCC names of 
all clients that are named under their WC insurance and copies of the 
certificates of insurance naming such clients.	
  
	
  

• Allows an investigator with the insurance compliance division of the IWCC 
to issue citations between $500 and $2,500 against employers who are in 
noncompliance.  The employer must pay the fine and provide proof of 
insurance within 10 days of the citation.  Failure to comply with this 
provision would be a basis for instituting an official non-compliance action 
with the Commission at which time a minimum $10,000 fine may be 
imposed.	
  

Fraud 
 

• Provides that the Department of Insurance has authority to subpoena medical 
records pursuant to an investigation of fraud and amends the Code of Civil 
Procedure to specify that physicians may disclose medical records pursuant 
to such a subpoena. 
  

• Eliminates the requirement that a report of fraud shall be forwarded to the 
alleged wrongdoer with the verified name and address of the complainant. 
 

• Provides that all reports of fraud not forwarded for prosecution shall be 
destroyed after the statute of limitations has run on the reported actions. 
 

• Specifies that intentional submission of medical bills for services not 
rendered constitutes WC fraud. 

 
• Requires the fraud unit to refer any violation to the Special Prosecution 

Bureau of the Office of the Attorney General.  
 

• Sets penalties for WC fraud based on the amount of money involved in the 
attempted fraud, from a Class A misdemeanor (less that $300) to a Class 1 
felony (more than $100,000).  Requires restitution be ordered in WC fraud 
cases. 
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• The fraud unit shall procure software to identify waste and fraud, and shall 
make annual reports on instances of fraud and prosecution to the General 
Assembly, Governor, Director of Insurance, and Chairman of the IWCC. 

Miscellaneous 
 

• Allows the Director of Central Management Services (“CMS”) to implement 
a system including purchasing workers’ compensation insurance and/or 
hiring a third party administrator to administer claims of state employees. 
 

• Establishes the State Workers’ Compensation Program Advisory Board 
within CMS to review, assess, the workers’ compensation program 
involving state employees, and to advise CMS regarding improvements to 
the system.  The board shall consist of 5 voting members, one appointed by 
the Governor who serves as Chairman, and one each by the four legislative 
leaders.  The board also includes non-voting ex officio members consisting 
of the Chairman/Director/Secretary, or their designees, of CMS, the 
Attorney General, Department of Insurance, Department of Transportation, 
Department of Corrections, Department of Human Services, Department of 
Revenue, and the IWCC.  They shall meet at least thrice annually and submit 
an annual written report to the Governor, General Assembly, and CMS with 
recommendations for improving the system. 

 
• Establishes a pilot program for collectively bargained workers’ 

compensation alternative dispute resolution involving 2 unions designated 
by the Department of Labor and employers in the construction industry.  
Certain elements must be in the agreements which must be approved by the 
Chairman of IWCC.  An approved plan shall be recognized as legally 
binding by the Commission and the Courts.  A rejection of an agreement by 
the Chairman is subject to judicial review.  Plan administrators must report 
all relevant information about claims and awards annually. 

 
• Provides that employers shall pay the full negotiated rate for medical 

services even if the provider has sold his/her interest for a lesser amount. 
 

• Prohibits commissions or gifts from attorneys practicing before the 
Commission and clients for referrals.  The prohibition does not include 
splitting fees among attorneys or food or refreshment consumed on the 
premises or catered not exceeding $75 per day.  Violation is a Class A 
misdemeanor.  
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• Provides that the Director of Insurance shall direct entities recommending 

WC premium rates (NCCI) to recalculate their proposed rates based on the 
reform legislation by 9/1/11. 

 
• Requires the Director of Insurance to submit extensive annual reports to the 

General Assembly, Governor, and the Chairman of the IWCC about work 
accidents, all aspects of the WC insurance market in Illinois, and numerous 
other matters relating to claims, awards, and medical expenditures.  The 
legislation specifies 34 specific areas the report must address. 

 


