image of people working IWCC  
link to home page
Pat Quinn, Governor
Pat Quinn, Governor

IWCC Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Annual Report
 Appellate Court
 Opinions
 Assessments
 Basic Info
 Benefit Rates
 Board meetings
 Calendars &
 Call Sheets
 Case Info
 Commission
 Decisions
 Contact
 Information
 español
 Forms
 Fraud

 Freedom of
 Information Act

 Frequently
 Asked
 Questions

 Handbook

 Injured Workers'
 Benefit Fund

 Insurance
 Jobs
 Links
 Medical Fees
 Meetings

 News

 Occupational
 Diseases Act

 Polski

 Rate
 Adjustment Fund
 Rules
 Self-Insurance
 Small Business
 Advisory

 Surchange
 Settlement
 Workers'
 Compensation
 Act
Inspector General

IL wc benefit rates

  Benefit Rates   

 

Every six months, the Illinois Department of Employment Security publishes the statewide average weekly wage (SAWW). The SAWW sets the maximum and minimum weekly benefit levels for workers' compensation. To calculate the SAWW, total wages are divided by the total number of employees in the past six months. Some employees worked every day, and some worked only a few days, but all are counted together. (Federal workers and self-employed workers are excluded.) According to Section 8(b)6, the IWCC is to post the rates by January 15 and July 15 of each year.

Although every attempt is made to calculate the workers' compensation rates in an accurate and reliable manner, only the Illinois statute governs. Where there is a disagreement between the statute and the IWCC's calculations, the statute is correct.

Click here for a printer-friendly list of the 1980-2015 rates. 

Click here for earlier rates.  

1/15/10
through
7/14/10*
7/15/10
through
1/14/11**
1/15/11
through
7/14/11^
7/15/11
through
1/14/12
1/15/12
through
7/14/12
7/15/12
through
1/14/13
1/15/13
through
7/14/13
7/15/13
through
1/14/14
  
1/15/14
through
7/14/14
7/15/14
through

1/14/15
Statewide Average
Weekly Wage (SAWW)
$922.45
$925.08
 $930.39
 $946.06
 $966.72
 $971.60
 $990.02
 $998.40
$1,002.68 
$1,005.80   
DEATH, PERMANENT TOTAL DISABILITY,  OR  
PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY IF AMPUTATION OF A MEMBER OR ENUCLEATION OF AN EYE

Recipients of death and PTD benefits may be entitled to cost-of-living adjustments through the Rate Adjustment Fund.   
Death benefits are paid for 25 years or $500,000, whichever is greater.
MAXIMUM 
 $1,243.00
  $1,243.00
  $1,243.00
$1,261.41 $1,288.96
 $1,295.47
$1,320.03
$1,331.20
$1,336.91
   $1,341.07

MINIMUM

 $466.13
  $466.13
 $466.13
 $473.03 $483.36 $485.80 $495.01
$499.20
$501.34
   $502.90
TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY
MAXIMUM
$1,243.00
 $1,243.00
 $1,243.00
$1,261.41 $1,288.96
 $1,295.47
$1,320.03
$1,331.20
$1,336.91
  $1,341.07
MINIMUM
The minimum is the employee's average weekly wage or the rate below, whichever is lower.
Number of children and/or spouse:
0
$213.33
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
$220.00
1
$245.33
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
$253.00
2
$277.33
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
$286.00
3
$309.33
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
$319.00
4+
$320.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
$330.00
New TTD minimums take effect with increases in the minimum wage each July 1, but appear in the July 15 rate. The statewide minimum wage increased to $8.25 on July 1, 2010.
PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY IF NOT AMPUTATION OF A MEMBER OR ENUCLEATION OF AN EYE
Effective 2/1/06, the maximum 8(d)1 (wage differential) award is equal to the SAWW, and the minimums are the same as the TTD minimums. 
MAXIMUM 
7/1/09 - 6/30/10:  $664.72*
7/1/10 - 6/30/11:  $669.64
7/1/11 - 6/30/12:  $695.78
7/1/12 - 6/30/13:  $712.55
7/1/13 - 6/30/14:  $721.66
7/1/14 - 6/30/15:  Will be posted Jan. 2015

MINIMUM 
The PPD minimum rate is the same as the TTD minimum rate (see above).

As provided in Section 8(b)4, there was no increase in the maximum benefit rates for 1/15/10 - 7/14/10 because the FY SAWW decreased.
**
As provided in Section 8(b)4, there was no increase in the maximum benefit rates for 7/15/10 - 1/14/11 because the CY SAWW decreased.
As provided in Section 8(b)4, there was no increase in the maximum benefit rates for 1/15/11 - 7/14/11 because there was no increase in the SAWW since 7/15/09 - 1/14/10.




 

 

 

Copyright 2002 State of Illinois   Privacy Statement   Contact Us